## From the Editor

It is my pleasure to announce that Professor Juzo Nakayama\* and Dr. Anthony J. Arduengo III† have been selected as the co-winners of the most recent vote for the ICMGC Award for Excellence in Main Group Chemistry Research. From a field of six contenders, Professor Nakayama received the plurality (39%) of 113 votes cast by members of the International Council of Main Group Chemistry, but Dr. Arduengo received the best score of a weighted summation of all of the votes. Thus, the ballot-counting committee (Eric Block, Robert R. Holmes, Louis D. Quin, and William E. McEwen) made a recommendation that Professor Nakayama would be declared the recipient of the 1995 award and Dr. Arduengo the recipient of the 1996 award. This recommendation was approved by the members of the awards committee and the members of the board of directors.

As usual, each award consists of a gold medal, an appropriate plaque, and an invitation to each recipient to present a plenary lecture at an international meeting of main group chemists, the details to be determined by consultation among all the interested parties. These awards represent the third and fourth sponsored by ICMGC, Inc., Guy Bertrand having been the winner of the 1993 award and Eric Block the winner of the 1994 award. Details of the careers and research work of Professor Nakayama and Dr. Arduengo will be presented in a forthcoming ICMGC Newsletter.

The members of the board of directors of ICMGC, Inc., have voted to eliminate the age restriction that applied to the first three nominations and elections of award winners. Beginning with the selection of the 1997 award winner, any active research

worker in the area of main group chemistry is eligible for nomination. An announcement to this effect will be advertised widely by the Chairman of the Awards Committee, Professor Eric Block, in the near future.

The membership of the board of directors of ICMGC, Inc., was expanded to 19 beginning in 1996. The directors for 1996 and their addresses are as follows:

Professor Guy Bertrand Directeur de Recherche CNRS Laboratoire de Chemie de Coordination 205 Route de Narbonne 31077 Toulouse Cedex France

Professor Eric Block Department of Chemistry State University of New York University at Albany Albany, NY 12222 United States

Professor T. Chivers Department of Chemistry The University of Calgary 2500 University Drive, NW Calgary, Alberta Canada T2N 1N4

Professor M. J. Gallagher
Department of Organic Chemistry
The University of New South Wales
P.O. Box 1, Kensington
New South Wales
Australia

<sup>\*</sup>Department of Chemistry, Saitama University, Faculty of Science, Urawas, Saitama 338, Japan.

<sup>†</sup>Research Leader, Central Research and Development Department, Experimental Station E328/225, Box 80328, E. I. duPont de Nemours & Company, Wilmington, Delaware 1980-0328.

Professor Yu. G. Gololobov The A. N. Nesmeyanov Institute of Organoelement Compounds USSR Academy of Sciences Vavilov Str., 28, Moscow Russia

Professor Robert R. Holmes Department of Chemistry University of Massachusetts Amherst, MA 01003 United States

Professor Michael F. Lappert The University of Sussex School of Chemistry and Molecular Sciences Falmer Brighton BN1 9QJ United Kingdom

Professor L.N. Markovsky Institute of Organic Chemistry Ukrainian SSR Academy of Sciences Murmanskaya Str. 5, Kiev 94 252660 Ukraine

Professor F. Mathey Ecole Polytechnique Laboratoire de Chimie du Phosphore et des Metaux de Transition 91128 Palaiseau Cedex France

Professor William E. McEwen, Chairman Department of Chemistry University of Massachusetts Amherst, MA 01003 United States

Professor Marian Mikolajczyk
Polish Academy of Sciences
Centre of Molecular & Macromolecular Studies
30-362 Lodz
Boczna 5. Poland

Professor Shigeru Oae, Director Institute of Heteroatom Chemistry 2509 Hirao Mihara-cho Minamikawachi-gun Osaka-fu 587 Japan

Professor Atsuyoshi Ohno Institute for Chemical Research Kyoto University Uji, Kyoto-fu 611 Japan Professor Louis D. Quin Department of Chemistry University of Massachusetts Amherst, MA 01003 United States

Professor Dr. Manfred Regitz Department of Chemistry Universitat Kaiserslautern Erwin Schrodinger Strasse Postfach 3049 6750 Kaiserslautern Germany

Professor Dr. Alfred Schmidpeter Institut fur Anorganische Chemie Universitat Munchen Meiserstrasse 1 D-80333 Munchen 2 Germany

Professor Jean'ne M. Shreeve Department of Chemistry University of Idaho Moscow, ID 83843 United States

Professor Kaluo Tang Institute of Physical Chemistry Peking University Beijing 100871, P. R. China

Professor Masaaki Yoshifuji Department of Chemistry Faculty of Science Tohoku University Aoba, Sendai 980 Japan

Professors Block, Chivers, Gallagher, Gololobov, Markovsky, and Yoshifuji have been elected directors for the period 1996–1998. All of the other directors were elected for the period 1994–1996. Elections of 12 directors for the period 1997–1999 will be conducted by the Nominations and Elections Committee (Michael J. Gallagher, Chairman) this year. All of the original directors (1994–1996) are eligible for renomination and reelection, but any present member of ICMGC, Inc., is also eligible to be nominated. Beginning in 1997, there will be 18 directors, and a scheme will be initiated to have an orderly turnover of directors in future years. Details of these procedures will be widely advertised by Professor Gallagher in the near future.

The Nominations and Elections Committee is presently carrying out an election of the officers (president, executive secretary, treasurer, and associate treasurer) of ICMGC, Inc., for the period 1996-1997. The present officers (Shigeru Oae, President; William E. McEwen, Executive Secretary; Louis D. Quin, Treasurer; and Kenji Ogino, Associate Treasurer) are continuing with the duties of these offices until the new officers have been elected.

William E. McEwen, Chairman, Board of Directors of ICMGC, Inc., and Editor-in-Chief of Heteroatom Chemistry March 15, 1996